Ep. 8- & Mary & Jack’s Abby House Lager

Hey all! Welcome to another week of People & Pints & Podcasts! For my eighth episode I was joined by my birthday buddy, Mary Yuengert, a Senior from Boston College. I’ve gotten to know Mary through The Gavel, where we were both writers and editors. Mary has become something of a mentor during my time at Boston College, so I’m always happy to chat with her! But, I invited her on the show to talk about her beautiful personal essay for the Authentic Eagles series on The Gavel. We also talked about Mary’s senior year of university, the Jesuit Volunteer Core and self-love! Mary and I enjoyed cans of Jack’s Abby House Lager as we chatted on a lovely Sunday afternoon.

I had mentioned half-jokingly to Mary a few weeks ago that she should come onto the podcast and I don’t know if she thought I was being serious. I was! So, I convinced her to give up a little bit of time on her Sunday and join me as we chatted and enjoyed a delicious beer. Mary called the House Lager “smooth” and aptly “golden,” while I said it was “simple,” but in a good, uncomplicated way. We then agreed that we could happily enjoy about three or four in a row without comprising the flavor. Finally, Mary suggested that House Lager should be enjoyed with a burger and fries, “a high quality burger for a high quality brew.” Then, we agreed that the perfect setting would be a night in with some friends watching a movie.

FullSizeRender (1)

Jack’s Abby House Lager

After our “beer talk” we shifted to a more serious topic and discussed Mary’s Authentic Eagles piece, “On Self-Compassion”. Mary described the process as being challenging but ultimately cathartic. She also touched on her anxiety of having to “live in the vulnerability.” On reading her piece, I had been blown away by her honesty, so I understand that she could feel self-conscious or worried about inviting people into her story. I was incredibly impressed by Mary’s strength and her willingness to discuss the process with me on the show. We talked about the challenges of self-love in college and the ways people can learn from Mary’s story.

Afterwards, Mary shared her many “heart-feelings” about Senior year, including her plans for the following year. She is in the middle of applying for a position with the JVC and hopes to finalize her placement soon. Right now, she has the options narrowed down to Los Angeles, California and Portland, Maine. We discussed how a year of service with the JVC works and some of the challenges that accompany it.

Ultimately we returned to Jack’s Abby House Lager for a “definitive” rating. Mary granted the beer a 10/10!! The first 100% on People & Pints & Podcasts! I was feeling a little stingy and gave the beer an 8/10, still a good rating. Subscribe to the show on iTunes and share it with others!

//html5-player.libsyn.com/embed/episode/id/4286290/height/360/width/640/theme/legacy/autoplay/no/autonext/no/thumbnail/yes/preload/no/no_addthis/no/direction/backward/no-cache/true/

If you haven’t read it, check out my post on upcoming brewery Bone Up Brewing Co. (future guests on the podcast)

One thought on “Ep. 8- & Mary & Jack’s Abby House Lager

  1. Pingback: Ep. 12-& Tom & Boston Homebrew Supply | People & Pints

Leave a Reply

