Ep. 42-& Maddie & Ambrey & Cambridge Brewing Remain in Light Hoppy Pilsner

Hey everyone and welcome to another episode of People & Pints! I got the chance to share a beer with two wonderful people and some of my oldest friends from Boston College. Friends of the blog, though newcomers to the podcast, Maddie Webster and Ambrey Rice. I met Maddie and Ambrey through The Gavel, where we started as Editorial Assistants. Maddie and Ambrey don’t consider themselves “beer people” but they took the plunge and sampled a delicious beer with me as we goofed around for half an hour. Be sure to listen all the way to the end to hear a great little blooper–spoiler alert I almost fell out of my barstool. I also noticed that there were some strange audio glitches so I apologize in advance for that. Enjoy!

IMG_3715

Maddie, Ambrey, and I have had various positions at The Gavel and first met as freshman. Our time there made a big impact on our Boston College experiences. I definitely grew as a writer because of my work there and it’s certainly the same for Maddie and Ambrey.

damara_dik-dikFor the episode, we sampled Remain in Light, a hoppy pilsner, from Cambridge Brewing Co. We all really enjoyed it and it was a bright, refreshing, drinkable beer. To start off our review, we all tried to find one word to describe it. Ambrey chose “Sunshine-y,” Maddie said “mystifying,” and I opted for “thirsty.” Next, we decided on its spirit animal. Ambrey offered, “otter,” Maddie, “dik-dik,” and I said, “salmon.” Finally, Ambrey suggested the ideal location to drink the beer was at a “backyard BBQ,” Maddie said “on a dock,” and I offered at any live sporting event.

cambridge-remain-in-light-hoppy-pilsner

We then got into our study abroad experiences and chatted about some of the wonderful things and some of the challenges. We also recapped Maddie and Ambrey’s trip to Amsterdam to visit me, which was a lot of fun.

Also, just to clarify, “adjunct” refers to unmalted grain, something I left out. It being unmalted indeed ends up making it cheaper which is my the macrobrews tend to use adjuncts. Though, as I tried to make clear, many talented brewers can do interesting things with adjuncts.

We all really enjoyed the beers and had a great time chatting! We hope you had a good time listening and I definitely recommend checking out any and all of Cambridge Brewing Co.’s beer.

//html5-player.libsyn.com/embed/episode/id/5061377/height/360/width/640/theme/legacy/autonext/no/thumbnail/yes/autoplay/no/preload/no/no_addthis/no/direction/backward/no-cache/true/

Leave a Reply

